Waterberg Waterberg
Waterberg
Travelogue Namibia   Home Waterberg     |   Travelogue Southafrica
Waterberg
Waterberg
Waterberg
 
 Regions
 
 
 
 

Waterberg Plateau Park

The Waterberg Plateau Park eastern of Otjiwarongo is arising about 200 meters from the surrounding plane scenery. The mesa massif is 16 kilometers wide and 49 kilometers long and consists of porous sandstone. Whereas it's very dry on top of the plateau as a result of the permeable rock, there is on the foot a lot of surface water in the form of strong permanent springs. The vegetation is relatively opulent and there are some interesting game species. You can see wild fig trees, fire lilies and coral trees among other things. Additional there is a rich fauna. Beside of the well known animal species (e.g., Kudus, Impalas, Antelopes) you will also find some species which were settled here by human, like Giraffes, Black- and White rhino, black horse and horse antelopes as well as stripe gnus. The rest camp seems to be a popular spot for ornithologists. The Waterberg NP is under nature protection since 1972.

In the center of the park directly at the foot of the Waterberg is the nice rest camp Bernabe de la Bat situated. The single areas of the rest camp are joined each other by short approx. 2 km long trails. Every single Trail is dedicated a specific subject. At the reception a "travel map" with short descriptions for the trails in the camp is available, but in the remaining parts of the park it looks not very rosy with hiking. Actually the area would be well suitable for hiking and in the current guides tours of several days are mentioned, but in the reception nobody wanted to know about it. Because the short trails are discovered in half a day, we decided to explore the plateau on our own initiative. The way up to plateau edge is still allowed to walk without permit. From a certain marked place one needs a permit. We have this "prohibited" way gone on nevertheless and found a interesting bush landscape with red-yellow sandstones along the way. The way runs always in a certain distance to the plateau edge and crosses every now and then little valleys on the edge of the plateau. Some care was necessary, because everywhere tracks of Rhinos were to be seen. Particulary the white rhino it's noted for its aggressiveness an one should not risk a meeting with these animals.

In the afternoon we still undertook a round trip of 4 hour through the reserve. These round trips are offered two times daily and cost approx. 200,- Nam$ pP. Because of our previous 3-day stay in Etosha, the animal world did not appear very spectacularly to us. However, the highlights were one of the very rare sable antelopes in a big distance and a black rhino at the waterhole (our first and last rhino in daylight on this trip). The park is predominantly dedicated to protect the animals and should not be a playground for tourists like Etosha. Thereby the game is relative shy and to observe only from a big distance. But we were not the onlyest "etosha-damaged" in the group, so we had good opportunities during the drive to exchange with other tourists about the previous travel.

Result: The park is very varied and as a result of the opulent Vegtation a rest for the desert-hagridden eyes. Bad: the possibilities for activities are a little bit limited. A whole day for the inspection is enough.

 

Waterberg
 
Waterberg

Waterberg

Waterberg

On the Plateau

Waterberg

Fig Tree

Waterberg Waterberg
Waterberg
Reisebericht Namibia   Home Waterberg     |   Reisebericht Südafrika
Waterberg
Waterberg
Waterberg
 
 Regionen
 
 
 
 

Waterberg Plateau Park

Das Waterberg Plateau östlich von Otjiwarongo erhebt sich rund 200 Meter aus der umgebenden Landschaft. Das Tafelbergmassiv ist 16 Kilometer breit und 49 Kilometer lang und besteht aus porösem Sandstein. Während es oben auf dem Plateau infolge des durchlässigen Gesteins sehr trocken ist, gibt es am Fuß viel Oberflächenwasser in Form von kräftigen permanenten Quellen. Die Vegetation ist darum vergleichsweise üppig und besonders artenreich. Unter anderem sieht man wilde Feigenbäume, Feuerlilien und Korallenbäume. Außerdem gibt es eine reiche Fauna. Neben den bekannten Tierarten (z.B. Kudus, Impalas, Antilopen) findet man hier auch einige, welche erst angesiedelt wurden u.a. Giraffen, Breit- und Spitzmaul-Nashörner, Rappen- und Pferdeantilopen sowie Streifengnus. Auch scheint das Rastlager ein beliebter Spot für Ornithologen zu sein. Der Waterberg NP steht seit 1972 unter Naturschutz.

Im Zentrum des Parks direkt am Fuße des Waterbergs befindet sich das schöne Rastlager Bernabe de la Bat. Die einzelnen Bereiche des Rastlagers sind durch kurze ca. 2 km lange Trails mit einander verknüpft. Jeder einzelne Trail ist einem bestimmten Thema gewidmet. An der Rezeption ist eine "Wanderkarte" mit den entsprechenden Beschreibungen erhältlich. Leider sieht es mit Wandern im übrigen Park nicht sehr rosig aus. Zwar wäre die Gegend gut dafür geeignet und in den gängigen Reiseführern werden sogar mehrtägige Touren erwähnt, aber vor Ort an der Rezeption wollte niemand etwas davon wissen. Da die kurzen Trails in einem halben Tag "abgewandert" sind, beschlossen wir auf eigene Faust das Plateau zu erkunden. Der Weg bis zur Plateaukante ist noch ganz normal zu begehen. Ab einer bestimmten gekennzeichneten Stelle benötigt man eine Permit. Wir sind diesen "verbotenen" Weg trotzdem weitergegangen und fanden eine interessante mit rotgelben Sandsteinen durchsetzte Busch-Landschaft vor. Der Weg verläuft immer in einer gewissen Entfernung zur Plateaukante und durchschreitet hin und wieder kleine Täler am Rand des Plateaus. Etwas Vorsicht war dennoch geboten, da überall Spuren von Nashörnen zu sehen waren. Vor allem das Spitzmaulnashorn gilt als aggressiv und angriffslustig und man sollte daher keine Begegnung mit diesen Tieren riskieren.

Am Nachmittag unternahmen wir noch eine 4-stündige Rundfahrt durch den Park. Diese Rundfahrten werden 2x täglich angeboten und kosten ca. 200,- Nam$ pP. Durch unseren vorangegangenen 3-tägigen Aufenthalt im Etosha Park, erschien uns die Tierwelt als nicht besonders spektakulär. Die Highlights waren aber immerhin eine der sehr seltenen Rappenantilopen (in großer Entfernung) und ein Breitmaulnashorn am Wasserloch (unser erstes und letztes Nashorn im Tageslicht auf dieser Reise). Der Park widmet sich vordergründig dem Schutz der Tiere und soll nicht wie Etosha eine Spielwiese für Touristen sein. Das Wild ist dadurch relative scheu und nur aus großer Entfernung zu beobachten. Da wir nicht die einzigsten "etosha-geschädigten" in der Gruppe waren, gab es dafür gute Gelegenheiten sich während der Fahrt mit anderen Touristen über den bisherigen Reiseverlauf auszutauschen.

Fazit: Der Park ist sehr abwechslungsreich und durch die üppige Vegtation eine Erholung für das wüstengeplagte Auge. Leider sind die Möglichkeiten für Aktivitäten etwas beschränkt. Ein ganzer Tag ist für die Besichtigung aussreichend.

 

Waterberg
 
Waterberg

Waterberg

Waterberg

Auf dem Plateau

Waterberg

Feigenbaum